Latest News and Developments

19 March 2020- New Zealand - closing borders 
The New Zealand Government has further strengthened travel restrictions, closing the borders to non-residents in an attempt to stop the spread of COVID-19. These restrictions come into effective from 23:59 on Thursday 19 March 2020 (NZT).

16 March 2020 - Virgin Atlantic takes drastic action to safeguard future against Covid-19 

▪ Virgin Atlantic will reduce its schedule, prioritising core routes based on customer demand. This change amounts approximately 80% reduction in flights per day by 26 March. As a direct consequence it will be parking approximately 75% of its fleet by 26 March and at points in April will go up to 85%.

▪ Owing to restrictions to international travel, the airline is reducing services to focus on core routes, depending on customer demand. This will be subject to constant review as the situation evolves. Its Heathrow-Newark route has been permanently terminated.

▪ Staff will be asked to take eight weeks unpaid leave over the next three months, with the cost spread over six months' salary, “to drastically reduce costs without job losses”.

▪ The airline said it has the support of the Balpa and Unite unions and the workforces they represent in agreeing to support unpaid leave, alongside other extensive measures.

16 March 2020- South Africa (Including UK travel restrictions). 
The Foreign and Commonwealth Office (FCO) advise against all but essential travel to South Africa. This is due to entry restrictions announced by the government of South Africa in response to the coronavirus, (COVID-19) pandemic. These measures will come in to effect as of 18 March (Summary, Entry requirements and Health pages). For more information and updates, please click here

15 March 2020- St Lucia Foreign Travel Advise 
St Lucia has announced that effective from 26 February, until further notice, any non-St Lucian national with a travel history in mainland China, Hong Kong, Republic of Korea, Japan, Singapore or Italy within 14 days will not be permitted entry into St Lucia. For more information and further updates, click here 

15 March 2020- Delta updates on European Travel Ban- CLICK HERE 
Delta Air Lines have created the attached Customer FAQs regarding these latest announcements to help answer any questions. As a reminder, the existing waiver applies to customers travelling to, from, or through Europe, the U.K., and Ireland through May 31. Details about this waiver can be found on Delta Professional and on
As the situation evolves, you can continue to find the latest news and updates on our dedicated website: This site is also linked on Delta Professional, so you’ll always have the latest updates at your fingertips.

14 March 2020- Jamaica
The Foreign and Commonwealth Office advise against all but essential travel to Jamaica due to restrictions imposed by the Jamaican authorities in response to the coronavirus (Covid-19) pandemic. British nationals who wish to leave Jamaica are encouraged to make travel arrangements urgently before airlines reduce direct and indirect flight options. Fore more information and updates, please click here  


14 March 2020 - US to add UK and Ireland to European travel ban

The UK and Ireland are to be added to America's European travel ban over the coronavirus pandemic, Donald Trump has confirmed.

The new restrictions will begin at midnight on Monday, eastern standard time (0400 GMT).

American citizens will still be allowed to return home to the US but they will be "funnelled" through selected airports, said Vice President Mike Pence.

Source - Sky News more to follow.

14 MARCH 2020- The Jamaican authorities have introduced a number of precautionary measures, including entry restrictions.

Only Jamaican citizens, spouses and children of Jamaican citizens and foreign residents of Jamaica travelling from the UK, directly or indirectly, will be allowed to enter. Travellers can expect disruption to flights and should contact their airlines, travel agents and tour operators.

For full government advice, click here 

12 MARCH 2020 - 11:51 - Trump suspends travel from 26 European countries to US

A presidential proclamation, published shortly after Mr Trump's speech, specified that the ban applied to anyone who had been in the EU's Schengen border-free area in the 14 days before their arrival in the US

The 26 Schengen countries are: AustriaBelgiumCzech RepublicDenmarkEstoniaFinlandFranceGermanyGreeceHungaryIcelandItaly, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, MaltaNetherlandsNorwayPolandPortugalSlovakiaSloveniaSpainSweden, and Switzerland

12 MARCH 2020 - 09:28 - Israel: Foreign travel advice 

International travellers entering Israel from overseas would be subject to home quarantine measures for 14 days on public health grounds. This decision will be reviewed in 14 days. Visitors who are unable to demonstrate they can undertake the home quarantine measures will be refused entry into Israel.

For further information, please visit Foreign Travel Advice:

Join the flightstore crew and become a partner today